BYUMS May Webinar: Michelle Kaufusi

U.S. - Salt Lake
Wed, May 26, 2021, 12:30 PM (MDT)

About this event

Join us and Michelle Kaufusi, Provo’s First Female Mayor, as we discuss moral and ethical leadership.   Mark your calendar and join us Wednesday, May 26th at 12:30 PM MT for what will be our last event before the summer break. This is a free event, invite your friends or colleagues!

Michelle Kaufusi is a Provo girl through and through: born and raised, graduated from Brigham Young University and ultimately making history as its first female mayor. The sixth of seven children, Michelle was raised not only by a single mother working hard as a graveyard shift nurse, but also by many neighbors, family and friends who pitched in to help. Provo quite literally helped raise Michelle.

In gratitude, Michelle has continually found ways to give back to her “village” by helping to raise Provo in return. Always actively involved in community service, Michelle served on many boards and commissions, including the Provo City Citizens Advisory Board and the Provo School District board, ultimately serving as its board president. 

Within only two years of being elected as the first female mayor in Provo City, Mayor Kaufusi earned the honor of Informed Decision Maker of the Year by the Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute. Under her leadership, Provo City continually receives national accolades, with 2020 distinctions being #1 Safest Big City, #3 Best Run City and #3 Best College City.

Recently named as the 2021 Best Performing City by the renowned Milken Institute, Provo stands out nationally for its job growth, high tech concentration and its high-quality lifestyle, without the price tag of comparable tech cities.



  • Lant Webb

    Lant Webb

    BYUMS Salt Lake Chapter






    View Profile
  • Allison Johnson

    Allison Johnson

    Immediate Past-President

    View Profile
  • Pimmie Lopez

    Pimmie Lopez

    Utah Legacy Productions

    President Elect

    View Profile
  • Nathan Giullian

    Nathan Giullian

    Executive Secretary

    View Profile
  • Jason Parker

    Jason Parker

    Larson & Company


    View Profile
  • Dave Austin

    Dave Austin

    Professional Development Committee Chair

    View Profile
  • Ashley farr

    Ashley farr

    Distinguished Utahn Committee Co-Chair

    View Profile
  • Michael Poulter

    Michael Poulter

    Distinguished Utahn Committee Co-chair

    View Profile
  • Steven Roberts

    Steven Roberts

    Scholarship Committee Chair

    View Profile
  • Nate Leishman

    Nate Leishman

    Professional Development Committee Member

    View Profile
  • Daryl Acumen

    Daryl Acumen

    Assistant Executive Secretary

  • Eric Dahl

    Eric Dahl

    Digital Communications Chair

    View Profile